This is the "Poetry and Declamation" page of the "Poetry and Declamation" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Poetry and Declamation   Tags: declamation, poetry  

The Harold W. Wise Declamation Contest is a valued annual tradition at Brookwood School. Celebrating its 36th year this May, the competition invites students to analyze, memorize, and declaim poems with which they connect personally.
Last Updated: Feb 19, 2016 URL: http://emdlibrary.brookwood.libguides.com/poetry Print Guide RSS Updates
Poetry and Declamation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Poetry

 

Important Documents

Here is the information you need about the Declamation contest, such as criteria, poem length, off-limits poems, etc. If you have questions ask Mr. Falconer or your teacher.

 

Recommended Books

Cover Art
What the Heart Knows - Joyce Sidman; Pamela Zagarenski (Illustrator)
Call Number: 811.54 SID ORANGE
ISBN: 9780544106161
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
Presents a collection of inspirational poems that offer hope, wisdom, comfort, and humor for life's challenging moments.

Cover Art
Poems to Learn by Heart - Caroline Kennedy; Jon J. Muth (Illustrator)
Call Number: 821 KEN
ISBN: 9781423108054
Publication Date: 2013-03-26

Cover Art
180 More - Billy Collins (Editor)
Call Number: 811.61 COL ORANGE
ISBN: 9780812972962
Publication Date: 2005

 

Start with Poetry Books

The Harold W. Wise Declamation Contest is a valued annual tradition at Brookwood School. Celebrating its 39th year this May, the competition invites you to analyze, memorize, and declaim poems with which you connect personally. A broad collection of poetry books are on display in the library to support the Contest. Browse this collection to explore poetry and find verse that expresses your own thoughts and feelings.

 

Poem in Your Pocket Day

Save the date! Poem in Your Pocket Day 2016 is held across the United States on Thursday, April 21.

On Poem in Your Pocket Day, people throughout the United States select a poem, carry it with them, and share it with others throughout the day.

Check out this page for poems to carry in your pocket!

Cover Art
Poem in Your Pocket for Young Poets - Martine Laffon; American Poets Society Staff; Bruno Navasky (Selected by)
ISBN: 9780810991422
Publication Date: 2011-03-01

Online Poetry Websites

 

Literary Reference Center

Literary Reference Center is a full-text database that combines information from major respected reference works, books and literary journals, and more. This is an excellent place to find a particular poet's work.  For instance, searching for Billy Collins or Taylor Mali offers the full-text of their books and poems. Literary Reference Center Plus is a database accessed using Brookwood's username and password. Ask the librarians or teachers if needed.

Literacy Reference Center Plus

 

More Poetry Books!

Cover Art
Follow Follow - Marilyn Singer; Josée Masse (Illustrator)
Call Number: 811.54 SIN BLUE
ISBN: 9780803737693
Publication Date: 2013-02-07

Cover Art
What Learning Leaves - Taylor Mali
ISBN: 9781938912269
Publication Date: 2012-11-15

Cover Art
Immersed in Verse - Tuesday Mourning (Illustrator); Allan Wolf
ISBN: 978-1938912269
Publication Date: 2006-04-28

Poet-to-Poet Project

For National Poetry Month, the Academy of American Poets introduces the Dear Poet Project, a multimedia educational project that invites  a multimedia education project that invites young people in grades five through twelve to write letters in response to poems written and read by some of the award-winning poets who serve on the Academy of American Poets Board of Chancellors 

Students—to participate in this year’s Dear Poet project, watch the videos below of Chancellors reading and discussing one of their poems. Then, write them a letter in response and send it by email to dearpoet@poets.org by April 30, 2016. Please include your name and the name of the poet to whom you’ve written. We will consider all letters for publication on Poets.org in May 2016. And our Chancellors will reply to select letters of their choosing.

Teachers—more details on the Dear Poet webpage.

 

Poem-a-Day

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Recommended Books

Cover Art
Aimless Love - Billy Collins
ISBN: 9780679644057
Publication Date: 2013-10-22

Cover Art
Time You Let Me In: 25 Poets Under 25 - Naomi Shihab Nye
Call Number: 811.6 NYE ORANGE
ISBN: 9780061896385
Publication Date: 2010
An anthology of twenty-five poets under the age of twenty-five includes contributions from Gray Emerson, Talah Abu Rahmeh, and Michelle Brittan.

Cover Art
The Oxford Shakespeare - Stanley Wells (Editor); Gary Taylor (Editor); John Jowett (Editor); William Montgomery (Editor); William Shakespeare
Call Number: 822.3 WEL ORANGE
ISBN: 9780199267170
Publication Date: 2005-08-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip