This is the "汉语五 Country Book Project" page of the "汉语五 Country Book Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

汉语五 Country Book Project   Tags: 5th grade, china, mandarin  

Where to find basic facts about Chinese-speaking countries and regions
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2015 URL: http://emdlibrary.brookwood.libguides.com/countrybook Print Guide RSS Updates
汉语五 Country Book Project Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Use This LibGuide

This libguide has your assignment information, useful databases, and information on where to find books, all in one spot.

 

Use this libguide as a starting point:

Find one of the country books or articles at the library

- Click on one of the databases or websites to the right and search for your country or region

 

Assignment Information

Click on the link to download a copy of the assignment guidelines.

 

Questions to Guide Your Research

How is the experience of a person in the country that you researched similar or different from your own experiences, at home and at school?

Imagine if you went to school in the country. How would you feel?

In what way would it be more interesting to go to school in that country?

 

Map of Chinese Provinces

Press command + to zoom in

Useful Databases

Use databases to find articles about your country or region.

Some of these databases need you to log in. Brookwood's username and password are on your assignment sheet.

  • CIA World Factbook
    Select your country from the drop-down menu at the top right
  • CountryReports.org
    Type your country or region's name in the search box
  • CultureGrams
    Sign in, then click on "World Edition" for basic facts, or click on "Kids Edition" to learn about daily life for kids in that country
  • WebPath Express
    Use the search box to search for your country. You can limit the results by grade level.
  • World Book Online
    Type your country or region's name in the search box
 

Where to Find Books

You can find most of the library books on your country in:

The 900s in the ORANGE section

The 900s in the BLUE section

If you're researching a region, look for a book on the country your region is in, then look for a section in the book on your region (indexes are helpful here).

You can also find articles about your country or region in the World Book Encyclopedia (on the shelf next to the printer) and The Berkshire Encyclopedia of China (on the shelf at the left side of the computer area, next to the Yoda poster).

And you can always ask Mrs. Geraty and Ms. Keller to help you find books.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip